Tuesday, December 14, 2010

The Pains of Being Disappointed

Yesterday's post became my most-viewed post within an hour of posting it. Not sure how that happened. I'm guessing some kind of bot is looking for a free copy of The Sunshine Factory's new album? Sorry, I still don't have one for you (Though you can stream the album at their site now that it's been released. I was rightit's good.). But here's this:
  • The Pains of Being Pure At Heart - "Heart In Your Heartbreak" single (Slumberland) [thepainsofbeingpureatheart.com]
  • Heart In Your Heartbreak
    "Heart In Your Heartbreak" -
    Download here
    • Released today and streaming here.
    • A pure pop single in advance of this NY four-piece's second album, due in February. Includes B-side "The One".
    • I was expecting something noisier. Is this a slightly new direction for them? I'm not a fan, so feel free to comment.
    • They hired the big guns this time. This stuff was produced by Flood (Smashing Pumpkins, U2, PJ Harvey) and mixed by Alan Moulder (My Bloody Valentine, Jesus & Mary Chain, Arctic Monkeys). Good grief, is that really necessary? Apparently they want to be the "it" band this winter/spring.
    • Not what I expected, and not an album I'll be interested in. I hesitate to even call this noise pop, and they obviously don't want to be underground, so I might not even bring it up again here.
  • Winter's Fall - Tracks from forthcoming album At All Angles (Velvet Blue Music) [wintersfallmusic.com]
  • At All Angles - Preview here
    • An Americana five-piece from Berkeley, CA, that sounds very much at home with the Velvet Blue family. The merger was announced yesterday.
    • Countrified So-Cal music with keyboards. A very unique sound that the San Francisco Weekly described as western meets sci-fi. 
    • Irresistible and recommended for fans of Starflyer 59's later output.
    • "Anyways" and "Who's to Say?" can and should be streamed at their site or at Velvet Blue's site.
    • The album is coming February 15th on VBM.
    • I just realized how clever their band name is.
  • J Mascis - "Not Enough" (Sub Pop) [jmascis.com]
    • Not noise pop at all, but where would the genre be without him? And it goes well with the Winter's Fall stuff, so I thought I might as well mention it.
    • Basically an acoustic folk song with a back-up vocal ensemble.
    • His new album, Several Shades of Why, will be released on Sub Pop on March 15th. It's all acoustic with lots of special guests, including Kurt Vile.
    • Stream the single here.
  • The Young - New 7" (Mexican Summer) [Blogspot]
    • This Austin four-piece started a U.S. tour on Friday and have a few vinyl discs with them with two new tracks. I have no idea what they are, but judging by the free tracks on their Blogspot, from their album Voyagers of Legend, it's got to be good.
    • Their tour brings them here to Columbus on Sunday, December 19th. See their site for the full schedule.
Wish I could stream one of those new tracks by The Young. Those guys kick ass. But you've got to hear "Anyways" by Winter's Fall...anyways. It's pretty special.

Winter's Fall - "Anyways" (At All Angles; coming 2/15/2011)

I'd like to take this opportunity to recommend a blog with a similar theme. SEE THE LEAVES has five contributors from California who don't miss much when it comes to noise pop. They've been at this for a year now. If you like noise pop, you can be sure not to miss a thing if you're reading 8-Tracks Fierce and SEE THE LEAVES.

No comments:

Post a Comment